CABMMA Says Cortney Casey Faked Head Kick Injury


Claudia Gadelha dominated Cortney Casey to earn a unanimous decision victory at UFC Fight Night 100, but an unfortunate event in the third round nearly marred the fight. About midway through the round, Gadelha through a kick at a downed Casey, which appeared to nail the fighter on the head, but replays showed that the kick just glanced the head of the downed fighter.

The Brazilian Athletic MMA Commission (CABMMA) issued a statement to MMA Fighting on the mater, as they feel that Casey had forged her injury.

UFC Austin Highlights: Josh Emmett Out Points Calvin Kattar Atop Record Setting Card

"Because the kick didn’t land, the athlete forged the injury," CABMMA COO Cristiano Sampaio said in a statement. "Had she not done that, and not used that time to her benefit and rest, he would have deducted the point. Had the kick landed, Claudia could get two points deducted or being disqualified. (Casey’s) conduct was wrong and unsportsmanlike, which could even be interpreted by the referee as she was giving up on the fight. The point was not deducted because of her attitude. It was an atypical situation and (the referee) acted correctly under our interpretation."

According to an unnamed UFC official, Casey said the following to them after the fight, “She won, and she kicked me in the head."

The UFC has yet to issue any kind of statement on the matter.

Get exclusive pro wrestling content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web