Celine Haga was on the wrong end of a decision against Amy Montenegro at Invicta Fighting Championships 21 this past January, despite the fact that Haga choked out Montenegro as the bell sounded to signal the end of the round and the fight. The parent body of the Missouri Office Of Athletics (MOA) recently turned down an appeal by Haga to overturn the result.
“The Office determined that no violations of the rules occurred during the fight,” a spokesperson for the MOA’s parent body stated. “Therefore, there will be no change in the official decision of the bout.”
Haga wasn’t too happy with the MOA’s ruling.
“I’m just still upset that the commission denied the appeal,” Haga said to MMA Fighting. “Especially with my regard. I started out at 1-11 and I worked so hard to get where I am. A win would mean two fights from an even record. Instead I’m now four fights away.”
Veteran referee “Big” John McCarthy offered his opinion on the fight ending controversy:
Well problem is she was out. She was out before the bell & she was out when the bell rang. You don't get choked out & win the fight #AskBJM https://t.co/HsZjfANbGr— Big John McCarthy (@JohnMcCarthyMMA) January 15, 2017
Well problem is she was out. She was out before the bell & she was out when the bell rang. You don't get choked out & win the fight #AskBJM https://t.co/HsZjfANbGr
— Big John McCarthy (@JohnMcCarthyMMA) January 15, 2017
Ruling against her aside, Haga isn’t going to be letting this go anytime soon.
“I’m just not good at taking no for an answer,” Haga said. “And I guess my record reflects that. I just don’t give up easy. So I kind of want to fight for this.”
Montenegro even issued a statement on the matter via Facebook:
It should be noted that Invicta FC paid Haga her win bonus as well after the fight.
View the discussion thread.