Darren Stewart Says Illegal Headbutt Didn’t Lead To Unfair Stoppage


Darren Stewart made his UFC debut at UFC Fight Night 100, where he defeated Francimar Barroso by first round TKO. Stewart, prior to scoring the TKO win, accidentally nailed Barroso with an illegal headbutt, but the fight was never stopped by the referee and the TKO finish came a short time later. While he received a lot of jeers from those in attendance. Stewart says that it didn’t lead to an unfair stoppage.

“I think it was fair,” Stewart said to MMA Junkie. “A fight is a fight. It is what it is, you know? I did what I had to do and the ref jumped in. If it was me in that situation, it would have been same thing – a fight is a fight. If I did headbutt, he would have gone down straight away, but he carried on. It feels great. I worked hard to be here. People that know me know my struggle to be here, and I worked hard to be here. It feels great. For my debut, to finish that quickly, that was even more great, you know? A bit of history for myself. I’m very very happy. I did what I do best, to put people out. (You can expect) the same, more finishes, more finishes from ‘The Dentist.’”

UFC Vegas 59 Weigh-In Results: Santos vs. Hill

Stewart has made a lot of sacrifices on route to joining the UFC, including nearly missing the birth of his first child.

“Two years ago, I left my Mrs. in labor to come fight,” Stewart said. “She was pregnant. I left her there, went to go fight, won my fight, my son turned upside down, so I went back to the hospital and I was back in time to see him being born.”

Stewarts next fight has yet to be announced by himself or the UFC.

Get exclusive pro wrestling content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web