NAC Says Referee Had Access To Replay During Ed Herman vs. Mike Rodriguez


Chris Tognoni did not use instant replay at UFC Vegas 10 but he definitely could have.

Controversy reared it’s ugly head last weekend at UFC Vegas 10. Referee Tognoni halted the fight between Ed Herman and Mike Rodriguez because he believed that Rodriguez landed illegal knee strikes on Herman. A replay during the broadcast showed that the knee strikes actually landed on Herman’s midsection.

Giga Chikadze Continues Push For Max Holloway Fight: "People Want To See This Fight"

Brendan Fitzgerald, who was a part of the commentary team, said the following during the broadcast about whether or not a replay could be used to determine if the low blow was in fact, a low blow (transcript via Trent Reinsmith of Bloody Elbow):

“I just spoke to Marc Ratner, our vice-president of regulatory affairs here at the UFC and he told me that they couldn’t, in fact, have gone to the replay for the low blow. That is not the rule. They can’t go to the replay at any point during the fight, it would only be for a fight ending sequence.”

However, according to the Nevada Athletic Commission (NAC), there is a rule that states that a referee can consult with NAC officials or to view a replay to see if an illegal strike did land during a fight:

The referee may, at any time during a contest or exhibition, call a time-out to consult with officials of the Commission or to view replay footage.

Rodriguez’s manager did say that the fighter will appeal the loss to Herman, but no ruling has been made at this time.

Fightful has all of your MMA needs covered. Follow us on Twitter for updates, and subscribe to our YouTube channel for exclusive interviews, lists, news updates and predictions.

Get exclusive pro wrestling content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web