New Welterweight Champion To Be Crowned At One Championship 84 After Ben Askren Leaves


Ben Askren has officially vacated the One Championship Welterweight Title and a new champ will get crowned at One Championship 84 as Zebaztian Kadestam is in action against Tyler McGuire.

Kadestam (10-4-0) has won two of three bouts under the One Championship banner, having defeated the duo of Luis Santos and Agilan Thani. Kadestam is a former Pacific Xtreme Combat Welterweight Champion, defeating Josh Calvo by unanimous decision to win the gold in June of 2014. Kadestam has picked up ten victories as a professional MMA fighter and eight of them have come by way of KO/TKO.

Watch: UFC 262 Pre-Fight Press Conference Video Live Stream

McGuire (11-0-0) has fought just once under the One Championship banner, defeating Luis Santos by unanimous decision earlier this year. McGuire is currently undefeated as a professional MMA fighter and that winning streak has lasted over three years. McGuire has picked up three professional MMA victories by way of decision, with one win coming that way once a year since 2016.

One Championship 84 takes place on Saturday, November 17 from the Stadium Istora in Jakarta, Indonesia with Zebaztian Kadestam and Tyler McGuire headlining. Fightful is going to be providing live coverage of the event, which streams live on the One Championship App.

Get exclusive combat sports content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web