Worldwide Boxing Results (12/28-31)

Boxing ends 2018 with a bang and more than half a dozen world title fights.

In a year that saw an undisputed cruiserweight champion, women's boxing take a big step forward and major U.S. television networks double down on boxing, the sport concludes with a pair of supercards in Asia. Firstly, Japan hosted its annual New Year's Eve week boxing show which saw Masayuki Ito defend his WBO super featherweight title. Then on New Year's Eve, Macau, China hosted a world title tripleheader.

Pros React To Robert Whittaker Kelvin Gastelum

So for the final time, below are notable boxing results from all over the world for the last weekend of 2018. Fight results covered are from December 28 to 31:

December 31, 2018:

Wynn Palace Cotai, Macao, Macao S.A.R., China:

  • Donnie Nietes defeated Kazuto Ioka by split decision to win the WBO Super Flyweight title
  • Hiroto Kyoguchi defeated Hekkie Budler by TKO, round 11 to win the WBA "Super" Light Flyweight title
  • Moruti Mthalane defeated Masahiro Sakamoto by TKO, round 10 to retain the IBF Flyweight title
  • Raymond Poon KaiChing defeated Awirut Chaladloes by TKO, round 3 to win the WBC Youth Intercontinental and WBC Asian Boxing Council Continental Light Flyweight titles

December 30, 2018:

Lucerna Hall, Prague, Czech Republic:

  • Martin Parlagi defeated Michal Dufek by unanimous decision to win the Czech Lightweight title

Ota-City General Gymnasium, Tokyo, Japan:

  • Masayuki Ito defeated Evgeny Chuprakov by TKO, round 7 to retain the WBO Super Featherweight title
  • Ken Shiro defeated Saul Juarez by unanimous decision to retain the WBC Light Flyweight title
  • Takuma Inoue defeated Petch Sor Chitpattana by unanimous decision to win the Interim WBC Bantamweight title

December 29, 2018:

Club Atlético Talleres, Villa Gobernador Galvez, Santa Fe, Argentina:

  • Evelyn Nazarena Bermudez defeated Guadalupe Bautista by split decision to retain the IBF Female Light Flyweight title
  • Daniela Romina Bermudez defeated Yolis Marrugo Franco by RTD, round 4 to win the WBO Female Bantamweight title 
  • Miguel German Acosta and Ruben Dario Lopez fight to a split draw
  • Hector Gabriel Perez defeated Emiliano Miguel Acosta by TKO, round 3

Expo Center, Pecs, Hungary:

  • Sandor Hiba defeated Gergo Vari by split decision to win the Universal Boxing Organization (UBO) European Middleweight title

December 28, 2018:  

Centro de Educacion Física, Ranchos, Buenos Aires, Argentina:

  • Luis Alberto Veron defeated Adolfo Mauricio Moreschi by unanimous decision to retain the WBC Latino Welterweight title
  • Marcelo Esteban Coceres defeated Basilio Silva by KO, round 2
  • Nicolas Pablo Demario defeated Cristian Lautaro Calullerovich by TKO, round 2
  • Martin Orlando Rocha defeated Carlos Gaston Suarez by split decision
  • Mariano Agustin Sandoval defeated Santiago Damian Sanchez
  • Alan Jorge Fernandez defeated Claudio Javier Chavez by unanimous decision 

Covered Court, Barangay Cupang, Muntinlupa City, Metro Manila, Philippines:

  • Vergil Puton and Landy Cris Leon fight to a technical draw with the Philippines Boxing Federation (PBF) Super Featherweight title on the line
  • Juanito Paredes defeated Lloyd Jardeliza by TKO, round 1 to win the vacant Philippines Boxing Federation (PBF) Featherweight title
  • Ariel Puton defeated Jeson Berwela by RTD, round 7 to win the vacant Philippines Luzon Professional Boxing Association (LuzProBA) Featherweight title
  • Ernesto Saulong defeated Junjie Lauza by RTD, round 5 to win the vacant Philippines Boxing Federation (PBF) Super Bantamweight title

Castle, Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa:

  • Jeremiah Nakathila defeated Prince Dlomo by KO, round 9 to retain the WBO Africa Super Featherweight title
  • Emile Kalekuzi defeated Azizi Mponda by PTS to win the IBF Youth Super Welterweight title
Get exclusive combat sports content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web