Worldwide Boxing Results (5/17-19): Wilder Retains WBC Heavyweight Title

A busy weekend of fights was highlighted by a couple of devastating knockout wins.

On May 18, fans from all over saw the vicious right hand thrown by Deontay Wilder to Dominic Breazeale to retain the WBC heavyweight title, resulting in a potential "KO of the Year" contender. Over in Scotland, Naoya Inoue made his case as boxing's top pound-for-pound star with a dominant performance against previously undefeated world champion Emmanuel Rodriguez to advance to the WBSS finals. Fightful has you covered with all the results from the big boxing fights this past weekend.

Matt Brown Out, Bryan Barberena To Now Face Darian Weeks At UFC Vegas 44

Below are results from boxing cards taking place around the world from May 17 to May 19:

May 19, 2019: Portopia Hotel, Kobe, Hyogo, Japan:

  • Felix Alvarado defeated Reiya Konishi by unanimous decision to retain the IBF Light Flyweight Title
  • Kenichi Horikawa defeated Masashi Tada by unanimous decision to retain the Japanese Light Flyweight Title

May 18, 2019: Club Huracán, Tres Arroyos, Buenos Aires, Argentina:

  • Omar Andres Narvaez defeated Carlos Jorge Luis Sardinez by unanimous decision to win the IBF Latino Bantamweight Title

May 18, 2019: Centre 200, Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada:

  • Ryan Rozicki defeated Shawn Miller by KO, round 3 to win the WBC International Silver Cruiserweight Title

May 18, 2019: Viby Hallen, Aarhus, Denmark:

  • Lolenga Mock defeated Mateo Damian Veron by split decision to win the IBA Super Middleweight Title

May 18, 2019: Lienzo Charro, Saltillo, Coahuila de Zaragoza, Mexico:

  • Jhonny Gonzalez defeated Rafael Hernandez by KO, round 5 to win the WBC FECARBOX Super Featherweight Title

May 18, 2019: Arena Neza, Ciudad Nezahualcoyotl, Mexico:

  • Estrella Valverde defeatd Gloria Gallardo by split decision to become the unified WBC FECOMBOX and WBC International Female Super Flyweight champion
  • Irais Isis Vargas defeated Maria Elena Villalobos by unanimous decision to win the WBC FECOMBOX Female Super Bantamweight Title

May 18, 2019: ABA Stadium, Auckland, New Zealand:

  • David Light defeated Mark Flanagan by unanimous decision to win the WBO Oriental Cruiserweight Title

May 18, 2019: Coliseo Roger L. Mendoza, Caguas, Puerto Rico:

  • Jesus M Rojas defeated Luis Ronaldo Castillo by TKO, round 4
  • Emiliano Martin Garcia and Juan Manuel Lopez fight to a majority draw

May 18, 2019: Lamex Stadium, Stevenage, England:

  • Billy Joe Saunders defeated Shefat Isufi by unanimous decision to win the WBO Super Middleweight Title
  • Brad Foster defeated Ashley Lane by TKO, round 12 to become the Unified British and Commonwealth Super Bantamweight champion
  • Joe Joyce defeated Alexander Ustinov by TKO, round 3
  • Shaun Cooper defeated Boy Jones by majority decision to win the WBO Youth Lightweight Title
  • Balazs Bacskai defeated Davi Eliasquevici by points
  • Harvey Horn defeated Joel Sanchez by points
  • Willy Hutchinson defeated Ondrej Budera by TKO, round 3
  • Connor Wright defeated Owen Jobburn by points
  • Lisa Whiteside defeated Dani Hodges by points
  • Graham Tirrell defeated Scott Hillman by points
  • Lee Hallett defeated Harley Benn by points
  • James Branch defeated Jan Hrazdira by TKO, round 2
  • Dennis McCann defeated Kamil Jaworek by TKO, round 1

May 18, 2019: Workpoint Studio, Bang Phun, Thailand:

Nawaphon Kaikanha defeated Sonny Boy Jaro by KO, round 7 to retain the WBC Asian Boxing Council Bantamweight Title

May 18, 2019: The SSE Hydro, Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom:

  • Josh Taylor defeated Ivan Baranchyk by unanimous decision to win the IBF Junior Welterweight Title and advance to the World Boxing Super Series Junior Welterweight Tournament Finals
  • Naoya Inoue defeated Emmanuel Rodriguez by KO, round 2 to win the IBF Bantamweight Title and advance to the World Boxing Super Series Bantamweight Tournament Finals

May 18, 2019: Entertainment and Sports Arena, Washington, District of Columbia, USA:

  • Tiara Brown defeated Angel Gladney by TKO, round 6 to win the NABO Female Super Featherweight Title
  • Alantez Fox defeated Nick Brinson by TKO, round 6

May 18, 2019: Barclays Center, Brooklyn, New York, USA:

  • Deontay Wilder defeated Dominic Breazeale by KO, round 1 to retain the WBC Heavyweight Title
  • Gary Russell Jr. defeated Kiko Martinez by TKO, round 5 to retain the WBC Featherweight Title
  • Juan Heraldez and Argenis Mendez fight to a majority draw
  • Robert Alfonso and Iago Kiladze fight to a split draw
  • Gary Antonio Russell defeated Saul Eduardo Hernandez by technical decision
  • Gary Antuanne Russell defeated Marcos Mojica by KO, round 4
  • Richardson Hitchins defeated Alejandro Munera by RTD, round 3

May 17, 2019: Ulster Hall, Belfast, Northern Ireland:

  • Ryan Burnett defeated Jelbirt Gomera by TKO, round 6
  • Marco McCullough defeated Declan Geraghty by TKO, round 3 to win the IBF European Super Featherweight Title
  • Sean McComb defeated Miroslav Serban by TKO, round 1
  • Lewis Crocker defeated Jumanne Camero by points
  • Padraig McCrory defeated Eric Nwankwo by points
  • Steven Donnelly defeated Edwin Palacios by KO, round 4
  • Sean Gerard Duffy defeated Antonio Horvatic by TKO, round 2
  • Callum Bradley defeated Rafael Castillo by points
  • Dee Sullivan defeated Pawel Strykowski by points

May 17, 2019: Foxwoods Resort, Mashantucket, Connecticut, USA:

  • Mykquan Williams defeated Rickey Edwards by unanimous decision to win the WBC USNBC Junior Welterweight Title
  • Elijah Pierce defeated Irvin Gonzalez by TKO, round 3
  • George Arias defeated Keith Barr by unanimous decision
  • Toka Kahn Clary defeated Carlos Manuel Reyes by KO, round 5
  • Marco Huck and Nick Guivas fight to a no contest
  • Adrian Sosa defeated Benjamin Borteye by KO, round 1
  • Jacob Marrero defeated Hugo Aguilar by unanimous decision
Get exclusive pro wrestling content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web