Fight-Size Boxing Results Update: Wilfredo Mendez Wins WBO World Title, ShoBox, UFC Fight Pass

Here's your fight-size boxing results update for the weekend of August 23-24:

- Puerto Rico just got a new boxing world champion in Wilfredo Mendez who beat Vic Saludar by unanimous decision (117–110, 115-112, 116-111) to become the new WBO minimumweight champion in San Juan on August 24. Mendez is now the only Puerto Rican boxer to currently hold a world title and the first to hold the WBO minimumweight title since Ivan Calderon in the mid-2000s.

UFC 264 Dustin Poirier vs. Conor McGregor Trilogy Promo Released

- On August 24 in an MP Promotions card from Manila, Philippines, John Riel Casimero scored multiple knockdowns and eventually knocked out Cesar Ramirez in the 10th round to retain the interim WBO bantamweight title.

- Below are the results from the August 23 ShoBox: The New Generation card from Broken Arrow, Oklahoma:

  • Vladimir Shishkin defeated DeAndre Ware by TKO, round 8, 2:40
  • Shohjahon Ergashev defeated Abdiel Ramirez by TKO, round 4, 2:00
  • Arnold Khegai defeated Vladimir Tikhonov by unanimous decision (80-72, 80-72, 80-72)

- In a fight that didn't make the television broadcast for the aforementioned ShoBox card, unbeaten welterweight contender Jaron Ennis defeated Franklin Mamani by stopping him after just one round.

- In the main event of a Roy Jones Jr. Boxing Promotions card from Alpine, California streamed on UFC Fight Pass on August 24, middleweight prospect Connor Coyle stopped Rafael Ramon Ramirez with about a minute remaining in the second round.

- Below are the results for the August 23 Murphys Boxing show from Boston:

  • Abraham Nova defeated Luis Castillo by TKO, round 1 to retain the NABA super featherweight title
  • Carlos Gongora defeated Alan Zavala by TKO, round 1 
  • Brian Ceballo defeated Luis Edward Flores by KO, round 4
  • Khiry Todd defeated Alex Duarte by TKO, round 1
  • James Perella defeated Jose Aubel by TKO, round 4
  • Brian Urday defeated Greg Bono by unanimous decision
  • Jonathan Depina defeated Robbie Thomas by TKO, round 4
  • Aaron Trecell Smith and James Perkins fought to a majority draw

- Several fights aired on FS1 and FS2 on August 24 before the PBC main event bout between Brandon Figueroa and Javier Chacon. Below are the results from the undercard from Edinburg, Texas.

  • Darwin Price defeated Aaron Herrera by TKO, round 2, 2:58
  • Stephen Fulton defeated Isaac Avelar by KO, round 6, 1:26
  • Jaime Arboleda defeated Victor Betancourt by TKO, round 1, 2:32
  • Omar Juarez defeated Gino de la Paz by TKO, round 1, 1:40
  • Raymond Guajardo defeated McArio DelCastillo by TKO, round 1, 2:29
  • Cesar Cantu defeated Eddie Hines by unanimous decision (40-36, 40-36, 40-36)
  • Sean Garcia defeated Nestor Robledo by unanimous decision (40-36, 40-36, 40-36)
  • Damien Vazquez and Josue Morales fight to a majority draw (57-57, 57-57, 58-56)
Get exclusive combat sports content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web