Worldwide Boxing Results (5/2-4): Canelo Alvarez Adds IBF Title To Middleweight Collection

Below are results from boxing cards taking place all over the world from May 2 to May 4:

May 4, 2019: T-Mobile Arena, Las Vegas, Nevada, USA:

Robert Whittaker vs Kelvin Gastelum: MMA Media Picks | UFC Vegas 24
  • Canelo Alvarez defeated Daniel Jacobs by decision to win the unified WBA "Super," WBC and IBF Middleweight Titles
  • Vergil Ortiz Jr. defeated Mauricio Herrera by KO, round 3
  • Joseph Diaz Jr. defeated Freddy Fonseca by TKO, round 7 to win the WBA Gold Super Featherweight title
  • Lamont Roach Jr. defeated Jonathan Oquendo by unanimous decision to become the Unified WBO International and NABO Super Featherweight champion
  • Anthony Young defeated Sadam Ali by TKO, round 3 to win the USNBC Silver Welterweight Title
  • John Ryder defeated Bilal Akkawy by TKO, round 3 to win the Interim WBA Super Middleweight Title
  • Aram Avagyan defeated Francisco Esparza by unanimous decision to retain the WBC International Silver Featherweight Title
  • Alexis Espino defeated Billy Wagner by unanimous decision

May 4, 2019: Elorde Sports Complex, Paranaque City, Metro Manila, Philippines:

  • Ryo Sagawa defeated Al Toyogon by unanimous decision to win the WBC Asian Boxing Council Silver Super Featherweight Title
  • Roldan Aldea defeated Nathan Bolcio by KO, round 1 to retain the Philippines Games & Amusement Board Lightweight Title
  • Cris Alfante defeated Geboi Mansalayao by TKO, round 5
  • Jheritz Chavez defeated Junar Adante by TKO, round 3 to retain the Philippines Games & Amusement Board Junior Welterweight Title
  • Jun Blazo by unanimous decision Benezer Alolod by unanimous decision to win the WBC Asian Boxing Council Silver Bantamweight Title
  • Melvin Manangquil and Ronald Alapormina fight to a split draw
  • Kawelo Alcos and Alvin Tayo fight to a draw
  • Darwin Boyones defeated Ramcie Mondala by split decision
  • Fernan Agencia defeated Ruben Traza by unanimous decision
  • Gringo Navarro defeated Anthony Trebucio by majority decision
  • Franklin Mendoza and Rodel Sunquit fight to a split draw

May 4, 2019: Estadio F.A.B., Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina:

  • Miguel Cesario Antin defeated Pablo Manuel Ojeda by TKO, round 8 to win the WBC Latino Super Featherweight Title

May 4, 2019: Salón Azul de AGEC, Villa Parque Santa Ana, Cordoba, Argentina:

  • Hector Edgardo Sarmiento defeated Julian Evaristo Aristule by KO, round 3 to retain the Argentina (FAB) Featherweight Title

May 4, 2019: Grand Star Receptions, Altona North, Victoria, Australia:

  • Qamil Balla defeated Hero Tito by TKO, round 6 to win the WBA Oceania Junior Welterweight Title

May 4, 2019: Fraport Arena, Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany:

  • Leon Bunn defeated Leon Harth by TKO, round 9 to win the IBF International Light Heavyweight Title
  • Abass Baraou defeated Ali Funeka by TKO, round 5
  • Sarah Bormann defeated Anne Sophie Da Costa by unanimous decision to become the Unified Global Boxing Union, Women's International Boxing Federation and World Boxing Federation Female Light Flyweight Champion

May 4, 2019: Korakuen Hall, Tokyo, Japan:

  • Masaru Sueyoshi defeated Ken Osato by majority decision to retain the Japanese Super Featherweight Title

May 4, 2019: Stockton Arena, Stockton, California, USA:

  • Jerwin Ancajas defeated Ryuichi Funai by KO, round 7 to retain the IBF Super Flyweight Title
  • Artur Beterbiev defeated Radivoje Kalajdzic by KO, round 5 to retain the IBF Light Heavyweight Title
  • Felix Valera defeated Mario Aguilar by KO, round 4
  • Brian Mendoza defeated Carlos Mohamed Rodriguez by KO, round 2
  • Blake McKernan defeated Joey Montoya by unanimous decision
  • Vislan Dalkhaev defeated Vincent Jennings by unanimous decision
  • Quilisto Madera defeated Osbaldo Camacho Gonzales by unanimous decision
  • Gabriel Flores Jr. defeated Eduardo Pereira dos Reis by KO, round 3
  • Jesus Godinez defeated Marco Antonio Arroyo by split decision

May 3, 2019: Ciudad Del Carmen, Campeche, Mexico:

  • Jose Angel Flores Chan defeated Alberto Chuc by unanimous decision to retain the Interim WBC FECOMBOX Super Featherweight Title

May 3, 2019: Eagles Community Arena, Newcastle, Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom:

  • Tyrone McCullagh defeated Alvaro Rodriguez by unanimous decision to retain the WBO European Super Bantamweight Title
  • Troy Williamson defeated Ionut Trandafir Ilie by RTD, round 2
  • Simon Vallily defeated Jone Volau by TKO, round 1
  • Lawrence Osueke defeated Tayar Mehmed by points
  • John Green defeated Josh Baillie by points
  • Jay Hughes defeated Ivan Godor by points

May 3, 2019: Sands Bethlehem Event Center, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA:

  • Frank De Alba defeated Ruben Dario Lopez by unanimous decision
  • Erik Spring defeated Nicolas Hernandez by unanimous decision

May 2, 2019: Hard Rock Hotel and Casino, The Joint, Las Vegas, Nevada, USA:

  • Steven Butler defeated Vitalii Kopylenko by split decision to win the WBC International Middleweight Title
  • Christopher Pearson defeated Yamaguchi Falcao by unanimous decision to win the WBC Latino Middleweight Title
  • Erik Bazinyan defeated Alan Campa by unanimous decision to retain the NABA and NABO Super Middleweight Titles
  • Alexis Salazar defeated Abraham Cordero by unanimous decision
  • Richard Acevedo defeated Mario Sosa by TKO, round 1
Get exclusive combat sports content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web