Shaun Spath competed on the main card of Legacy Fighting Alliance 46 and suffered a second round TKO loss to Ahmet Kayretli.
It was a stomp to the midsection of a downed Spath that ended the fight, a blow that is illegal according to the Unified Rules Of MMA and now Spath plans on appealing the loss, or so his manager claims to MMA Fighting.
The fight ending sequence can be seen here through a video posted on AXS TV Fights twitter account:
Another finish for @ahmetkayretli! ------#LFA46#100YearsOfEustis@LFAfighting @JBLEnews pic.twitter.com/yzMpt8wEcK— AXS TV Fights (@AXSTVFights) July 28, 2018
Another finish for @ahmetkayretli! ------#LFA46#100YearsOfEustis@LFAfighting @JBLEnews pic.twitter.com/yzMpt8wEcK
— AXS TV Fights (@AXSTVFights) July 28, 2018
If Spath does plan on following through with the filing of an appeal, it would have to be done through the Virginia Boxing & Wrestling commission. If the appeal goes through and the commission sides with Spath, it would overturn his loss and Kayretli’s win to a no contest.
There has been no comment yet from any LFA officials or from Kayretli’s team at this time. The loss for Spath was his second as a professional MMA fighter, while Kayretli picked up his eighth win as a result of the now controversial bout.
View the discussion thread.