UFC Fight Night 90 Recap: New UFC Lightweight Champion Crowned, Derrick Lewis Continues Streak, Joe Duffy


You never know what will happen in MMA.

It's often said, but not always believed. After several years of the sport being dominated by the likes of Jon Jones, Jose Aldo, Georges St-Pierre, Anderson Silva, and Ronda Rousey, MMA is perhaps at it's most unpredictable. All five of the aforementioned names have been beaten, or narrowly escaped defeat over the past three years. 

Big Fights That Won't Be on UFC 300

Eddie Alvarez didn't care who was "supposed to win," as evidenced at UFC Fight Night 90 from Las Vegas Nevada.

Alvarez became the first man in history to hold a Bellator and UFC Championship in his career, and he did so in rather dominant fashion by defeating UFC Lightweight Champion Rafael dos Anjos. Alvarez had perhaps the most crisp striking we've seen from him in years, employing it en route to his first UFC title. The victory really opens the lightweight division up, considering Alvarez spent a good portion of his career in Bellator.

Heavyweight Derrick Lewis improved to 7-2 in the UFC and now rides a four fight win-streak after defeating Ultimate Fighter 10 winner Roy Nelson. Lewis dominated the first round with strikes, but exhausted himself and was taken down for the duration of round two and much of round three. Fortunately for Lewis, Nelson wasn't interested in actually utilizing any offense, so Lewis was able to make it to his feet and win round three in the final 75 seconds.

Elsewhere on the show, Joseph Duffy impressed with a 25 second submission of Mitch Clarke. Speaking of submissions, the show started off with an astounding five in a row.

Full UFC Fight Night 90 results are below


Eddie Alvarez (#2) def. Rafael dos Anjos via TKO (strikes) at 3:49 of Round 1 to become UFC lightweight champion

Derrick Lewis (#12) def. Roy Nelson (#10) via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Alan Jouban def. Belal Muhammad via unanimous decision (28-27, 29-27, 29-28)

Joseph Duffy def. Mitch Clarke via submission (rear-naked choke) at :25 of Round 1

Alberto Mina def. Mike Pyle via KO (flying knee) at 1:17 of Round 2

John Makdessi def. Mehdi Baghdad via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)

Anthony Birchak def. Dileno Lopes via split decision (27-30, 29-28, 29-28)

Pedro Munhoz def. Russell Doane via submission (guillotine choke) at 2:08 of Round 1

Felipe Arantes def. Jerrod Sanders via submission (armbar) at 1:39 of Round 2

Gilbert Burns def. Lukasz Sajewski via submission (armbar) at 4:57 of Round 1

Marco Beltran def. Reginaldo Vieira via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:04 of Round 2

Get exclusive pro wrestling content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.