Why Daniel Cormier Was Able To Weigh In Twice Ahead Of UFC 210


UFC 210 saw everyone weigh in and hit their marks, except UFC Light Heavyweight Champion Daniel Cormier -- at first.

In a confusing scene, Cormier showed up, missed weight, only to return and hit the 205 pound mark, which is typically not allowed by UFC standards. NYSAC executive director Tony Giardina told Fightful and other reporters that championship fights in the state of New York have special exceptions.

Rose Namajunas eyes flyweight glory

"The policy of the athletic commission in championship bouts is to allow fighters to get on the scales a second time if they're overweight the first time," Giardina said. "For non-championship fights, the rule is they can't leave. They can drop their drawers."

Giardina said that Cormier would not have been allowed to cut more than one percent of his body weight for the second weigh in. He also noted that while the UFC's policy gave him until 11 am, their policy would have overridden it and allowed him to 1 pm EST. 

No word on how Cormier dropped the weight so quickly, but Giardina suspected that Cormier may have been holding the towel during his first weigh-in.

Get exclusive pro wrestling content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.