Cruiserweight Championship Announced And Crowned

The Cruiserweight Classic was already a history-making tournament, but even more so after an announcement made by Triple H.

Big Cass Returns To Wrestling After Absence Since 2019, Is YOLKED

HHH appeared ahead of the Cruiserweight Classic finals and congratulated both Gran Metalik and TJ Perkins for reaching that point in the tournament. He announced that while they had both performed well, only one could win the tournament, and more importantly, only one could go to Raw as the WWE Cruiserweight Champion.

Triple H then presented the WWE Cruiserweight Championship, a silver title belt with an all-purple strap, a stark contrast to cruiserweight titles of year's past. The WWE has been without a Cruiserweight Championship since 2007 when Hornswoggle won the title belt, and it was later vacated.

Metalik and TJ Perkins did battle in the night's main event after defeating Zack Sabre Jr, and Kota Ibushi, respectively. After a back and forth battle, TJ Perkins, the former Suicide/Manik/Puma in TNA, became the champion.

Previous incarnations of WWE/WCW cruiserweight and light heavyweight titles were held by the likes of Jeff Hardy, Eddie Guerrero, Raven, Brian Pillman, Jushin Liger, Christian, Rey Mysterio, Matt Hardy, Sean Waltman, Dean Malenko, Jerry Lynn, Taka Michinoku, and others. 

Get exclusive combat sports content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web