Hiroshi Tanahashi Named MVP By Tokyo Sports; Kazuchika Okada vs. Kenny Omega Wins Best Bout

Tokyo Sports in Japan released their annual wrestling award winners for 2018.

NJPW star Hiroshi Tanahashi was named MVP, beating out Kazuchika Okada and Kenny Omega. It's the fourth time Tanahashi has won the MVP award and first since 2014. Tanahashi is now tied with Genichiro Tenryu and Keiji Muto for the second most MVP awards. Antonio Inoki holds the record with six wins.

WWE Producers, Backstage Notes For WWE Raw 9/12 & WWE Smackdown 9/16/22

The two-out-of-three falls bout between Kazuchika Okada and Kenny Omega from Dominion won the Best Bout award. It's the second straight year Okada and Omega have won Best Bout. Okada has now won the award five years in a row and six of the last seven years

Here is the full list of winners:

MVP Award - Hiroshi Tanahashi (New Japan Pro-Wrestling)

Best Bout Award - Kazuchika Okada vs. Kenny Omega (New Japan Pro-Wrestling)

Outstanding Performance Award - Naomichi Marufuji (Pro Wrestling Noah)

Fighting Spirit Award - Kaito Kiyomiya (Pro Wrestling Noah)

Technique Award - Tetsuya Naito (New Japan Pro-Wrestling)

Best Tag Team Award - Shuji Ishikawa and Suwama (All Japan Pro Wrestling)

Newcomer Award - Utami Hayashishita (World Wonder Ring Stardom)

Joshi Puroresu Grand Prize - Tsukasa Fujimoto (Ice Ribbon)

Get exclusive pro wrestling content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web