Kairi Sane Defeats Shayna Baszler For NXT Women's Championship At NXT Takeover: Brooklyn 4

Shayna Baszler's reign as NXT Women's Champion is over.

Over a year after their first meeting at the 2017 Mae Young Classic, Shayna Baszler and Kairi Sane met in a NXT Women's Championship match at NXT Takeover: Brooklyn 4. Sane won the first meeting becoming the first wrestler to win the Mae Young Classic and went on to challenge for the Championship but was unsuccessful.

Sidney Akeem Says He's Looking To Work With EJ Nduka And Lio Rush On The Independent Scene

Baszler got her win back on NXT earlier this year but in their third meeting on NXT programming Sane defeated Baszler and became the 8th NXT Women's Champion.

The following is an excerpt from the Fightful Wrestling play-by-play provided by Ryan Cook.

Kairi applies the Anchor in the ropes to the count of four before hitting an Alabama slam, but Shayna gets her knees up when she goes for the Insane Elbow. Shayna then puts Kairi in a rear naked choke before Kairi rolls back and pins Shayna's shoulders to the mat for the pin and the win.

Winner: Kairi Sane becomes the new NXT Women's champion by defeating Shayna Baszler via pinfall.

Fightful Wrestling had live coverage, discussion, and a recapping podcast for the whole NXT Takeover: Brooklyn 4 card.

Get exclusive pro wrestling content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.