NEVER Openweight Six-Man Tag Team Title Match Set For 9/11 NJPW New Japan Road

The new NEVER Openweight Six-Man Tag Team Champions' first title defense will be against the trio they defeated in order to become the new champions.

During a special press conference, NJPW announced that current six-man tag team champions YOSHI-HASHI, Tomohiro Ishii & Hirooki Goto will take on the team of Kazuchika Okada, Toru Yano & SHO on the September 11 New Japan Road show. The match will be contested between members of the CHAOS stable, the second straight such title match. 

Jorge Masvidal Puts Chris Jericho To Sleep With A Super Necessary Flying Knee On 9/24 AEW Rampage

YOSHI-HASHI, Ishii & Goto defeated Okada, Yano & SHO earlier in August during the Summer Struggle tour in the finals of an eight-team tournament to crown new champions. The previous team to hold the belt (EVIL, Shingo Takagi & BUSHI) dropped the belts after EVIL turned on them and Los Ingobernables De Japon to join Bullet Club. 

In addition, NJPW announced that the September 11 show will see the finals of a tournament to crown a new IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champion. The previous team to hold the belts, SHO & YOH, vacated the belts after YOH suffered an injury several weeks ago and will be out of action for an indefinite amount of time. For a full look at the teams competing in the tournament, click here.

Fightful will provide results for the New Japan Road shows running from September 3 to September 11. The 2020 G1 Climax tournament will begin on September 19.

Get exclusive pro wrestling content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web