New Champion Crowned At NXT Takeover: San Antonio

The Authors of Pain started 2017 with a bang by becoming the new NXT Tag Team Champions at the NXT Takeover event in San Antonio tonight.

After winning the second Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic at NXT Takeover: Toronto last November, the tag team led by legendary manager Paul Ellering was granted a chance to compete for the tag titles. They got their chance in San Antonio, at the first Takeover event to be held during a Royal Rumble weekend, and defeated #DIY. Comprised of Johnny Gargano and Tommaso Ciampa, #DIY saw their reign as champions last only 70 days.

NJPW Road To Wrestling Dontaku Results (4/20): Los Ingobernables de Japon Take On BULLET CLUB War Dogs

In just the seven months that the two big men have been on television, the Authors of Pain have pretty much won every single match in which they have competed. Their careers are already impressive considering that Akam had only been wrestling since 2015 and Rezar (real name Gzim Selmani), a former MMA fighter for Bellator, made his wrestling debut early last year.

The title change follows the recent trend of the tag titles switching hands on NXT Takeover shows. With the Authors of Pain winning, this marks fthe ourth time in the last five NXT Takeover specials that the NXT Tag Team championships changed hands. #DIY were part of the trend, beating The Revival at the Takeover in Toronto.


Get exclusive pro wrestling content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.