New Champions Crowned, Huge Dominion Main Event Set, Best Of Super Juniors Field Announced At NJPW Show

NJPW Wrestling Dontaku took place early Wednesday morning, and shaped the future of New Japan.

Kenny Omega and Okada will clash in the main event of Dominion on June 11 from Osaka-jo Hall. The two will compete for the IWGP Heavyweight Championship, currently held by Okada. It will serve as a highly anticipated rematch of their critically acclaimed match at this year's Wrestle Kingdom event. Omega defeated Tomohiro Ishii, while Okada beat Bad Luck Fale at Dontaku.

STARDOM THE CONVERSION Results (6/22/24): Maika vs. Xena, FWC vs. wing*gori, More

The NEVER Openweight Six Man Tag Team titles can't seem to find a solid home, as Los Ingobernables became new champions, defeating Hiroshi Tanahashi, Ricochet and Taguchi. It's the third time EVIL, Bushi and SANADA have held the titles this year alone, and makes history for the three. The trio was previously tied with The Elite, as well as the Briscoes & Toru Yano with two championship reigns.

Also, this year's Best of the Super Juniors field was announced. You can see the participants below, with the tournament starting May 17.

A Block: Jushin Liger, Ricochet, Taichi, TAKA Michinoku, Hiromu Takahashi, Dragon Lee, Will Ospreay, Marty Scurll

B Block: KUSHIDA, Desperado, Tiger Mask, Yoshinobu Kanemaru, Volador Jr, ACH, Ryusuke Taguchi, BUSHI

Get exclusive pro wrestling content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.