New NXT Womens Champion Crowned

Ember Moon is the new NXT Women's champion.

She defeated Kairi Sane, Nikki Cross and Peyton Royce to win the title at NXT Takeover: WarGames tonight in Houston, Texas. After a long fought back and forth match, Moon managed to score the win when she landed the eclipse finish on both Nikki Cross and Peyton Royce, pinning Cross to become the champion.

Serena Deeb Attacks Toni Storm, Swerve Strickland Beats Nick Wayne | AEW Fight Size

After the match, William Regal came out to award her the title. Asuka, who was shown earlier in the crowd, came out and celebrated with her, raising her hand in victory. The storyline had been that Ember Moon wasn't able to beat Asuka in the two times they faced off at previous Takeover events.

The NXT Women's title had become vacant following Asuka's advancement to the Raw roster. She vacated the belt, remaining undefeated on the NXT roster. The title was officially vacated at the NXT tapings on August 24. She had held the title for a staggering 510 days, easily a record for the championship, winning it back on April 1, 2016.

Kairi Sane won the Mae Young Classic, and as a result, was the first participant in the fatal four way. Peyton Royce, Ember Moon and Nikki Cross all won qualifying matches to enter the match.

You can see the Fightful coverage of NXT Takeover WarGames at this link, Sean Ross Sapp's match ratings here, and the post-show podcast at this link.

Get exclusive pro wrestling content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.