NJPW Best of the Super Juniors Field Announced

The 2018 Best of the Super Juniors will soon be underway. 

The annual tournament of New Japan Pro Wrestling's best junior heavyweight wrestlers has been scheduled for May and June. Sixteen wrestlers are split among two "blocks" and the winner of each block will face off in the finals of the tournament. 

Riddle Discusses His Relationship With WWE Legends, Names Edge As A Dream Opponent

Block A



Flip Gordon

Taiji Ishimori

Tiger Mask IV

Will Ospreay

Yoshinobu Kanemaru


Block B

Chris Sabin

Dragon Lee

El Desperado

Hiromu Takahashi


Marty Scurll

Ryusuke Taguchi


There will be matches from each group on alternating nights between May 18th and June 3rd. The tournament is a round robin style where each wrestler faces every wrestler from their group. Winning a match earns two points while a draw still earns one point. The winner will challenge the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Champion who is currently Will Ospreay. However, Ospreay is in Block A and has a chance to win thus taking the opportunity from the other wrestlers. 

Some of the matches will be broadcasted live on New Japan World while others will be uploaded later. Fightful Wrestling covers NJPW during the Fightful Weekender podcast which is part of the premium content at Fightful Select

Get exclusive combat sports content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web