NJPW Cancels Events From March 1 To March 15 Due To Coronavirus; DDT Also Cancels Shows

The Coronavirus has caused NJPW to change up its schedule.

The company announced that they have canceled events from March 1 through March 15 due to the virus. That includes the Anniversary event on March 3 and New Japan Cup events, which was scheduled to begin on March 4. 

AEW Women's Title Eliminator Tournament Update: Finals Set For 3/3 AEW Dynamite

From NJPW:

NJPW events March 1-15 canceled

In light of recommendations made on February 26 by the Japanese Ministry of Health connected to the new Coronavirus COVID-19, New Japan Pro-Wrestling has arrived at the decision to cancel all live events scheduled between Sunday March 1 and Sunday March 15.

Further announcements will be made at a later date. All ticket holders will be refunded. Please check njpw1972.com and social media in the coming days for details on the refund procedure.

NJPW has reached this difficult decision after careful consideration. Ultimately, the health and safety of our fans, staff and wrestlers is our highest concern. We remain deeply appreciative of your support of New Japan Pro-Wrestling. 

The following events are affected by today’s decision:

Anniversary Tour

Sunday March 1: Mito Municipal Gymnasium, Ibaraki

Monday March 2: Big Palette Fukushima

Anniversary Event

Tuesday March 3: Ota City Gymnasium, Tokyo

New Japan Cup

Wednesday March 4: Korakuen Hall, Tokyo

Saturday March 7: Aichi Prefectural Gymnasium

Sunday March 8: Baycom Gymnasium, Hyogo

Monday March 9: Kochi Prefectural Gymnasium

Tuesday March 10: ZIP Arena Okayama

Thursday March 12: Korakuen Hall, Tokyo

Friday March 13: Korakuen Hall, Tokyo

Saturday March 14: Makuhari Messe, Chiba

DDT Pro-Wrestling also announced on social media that shows on the following dates have been canceled: February 28, February 29, March 1, March 3, March 7, March 8.

Fightful will keep you updated when more information comes out.

Get exclusive combat sports content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web