NJPW Reveals G1 Climax 2020 Participants

This year's G1 Climax field is set.

During today's New Japan Road event, NJPW revealed the 20-man field that make up the yearly tournament. 

Jeff Jarrett Says Monty Brown Was A Unique Talent, Believes The Sky Was The Limit For Him

A few notable names were revealed as participants, such as KENTA, Jeff Cobb, Jay White, Will Ospreay and Juice Robinson. All of these wrestlers had been living outside Japan during the pandemic and some, such as KENTA, White and Cobb, wrestled on NJPW's U.S. shows in recent weeks with KENTA winning the New Japan Cup USA.

Below are the 20 entrants in the G1 Climax, along with the block they were place in:


Kota Ibushi

Jeff Cobb

Kazuchika Okada

Tomohiro Ishii

Will Ospreay

Shingo Takagi

Minoru Suzuki


Jay White

Yujiro Takahashi


Hiroshi Tanahashi

Juice Robinson

Hirooki Goto

Toru Yano


Tetsuya Naito


Zack Sabre Jr.



Below are the full schedule and tour stops:

  • Saturday, September 18・Osaka・Osaka Prefectural Gymnasium (EDION Arena Osaka)
  • Sunday, September 19・Osaka・Osaka Prefectural Gymnasium (EDION Arena Osaka)
  • Wednesday, September 23・Hokkaido・Hokkai Kita Yell
  • Thursday, September 24・Hokkaido・Hokkai Kita Yell
  • Sunday, September 27・Hyogo・Kobe World Hall
  • Tuesday, September 29・Tokyo・Korakuen Hall
  • Wednesday, September 30・Tokyo・Korakuen Hall
  • Thursday, October 1・Niigata・Aore Nagaoka
  • Monday, October 5・Tagawa・Takamatsu City Gymnasium
  • Tuesday, October 6・Hiroshima・Hiroshima Sun Plaza Hall
  • Wednesday, October 7・Hiroshima・Hiroshima Sun Plaza Hall
  • Thursday, October 8・Okayama・ZIP Arena Okayama
  • Saturday, October 10・Osaka・Osaka Prefectural Gymnasium (EDION Arena Osaka)
  • Sunday, October 11・Aichi・Aichi Prefectural Gymnasium (Dolphins Arena)
  • Tuesday, October 13・Shizuoka・Hamamatsu Arena
  • Wednesday, October 14・Kanagawa・Yokohama Budokan
  • Friday, October 16・Tokyo・Ryogoku Sumo Hall
  • Saturday, October 17・Tokyo・Ryogoku Sumo Hall
  • Sunday, October 18・Tokyo・Ryogoku Sumo Hall

The winner of the G1 Climax usually gets an IWGP Heavyweight title match at Wrestle Kingdom the following year. The current champion is Tetsuya Naito, who also holds the IWGP Intercontinental title.

Fightful will have results and updated standings after each G1 climax show.

Get exclusive combat sports content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web