NWA Announces Eight-Man Tournament To Crown National Champion At 70th Anniversary Show

The National Wrestling Alliance is loading up for their 70th Anniversary Show on Oct. 21.

Today, the company announced an eight-man tournament to crown a new National Champion for the event. The tournament will take place in two stages. The first stage is two separate four-way elimination matches. The winners of each bout will meet in a one-on-one contest to crown a new champion.

AEW Announces Rules And Stakes For Casino Tag Team Royale At AEW Revolution

NWA will be releasing the names of the eight competitors throughout the day. Fightful will update this post will the announcements as they happen.

The history of the NWA National Championship dates back to 1980 when Austin Idol captured the title. Kahagas last held the belt in 2017. The title was vacated in Sept. 2017 and defunct until Oct. 21 when it will be revived at the 70th Anniversary Show. 

Here are the announced competitors:


The NWA 70th Anniversary Show will be headlined by Cody defending the NWA World Title against Nick Aldis in a 2-out-of-3 falls bout.

Get exclusive combat sports content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web