Title Change At NJPW Destruction In Kobe

Killer Elite Squad are back in the tag team title picture. Not only that, they're running the ship at this point.

At Sunday morning's Destruction in Kobe show, Davey Boy Smith Jr. and Lance Archer became three-time IWGP Tag Team Champions when they defeated War Machine and the Bullet Club tandem of Guerrillas of Destiny (Tanga Loa and Tama Tonga) in a three-way tornado tag match.

Britt Baker To Compete On 4/19 AEW Dark: Elevation

Lance Hoyt had been sidelined with much of the year with an injury that left Davey Boy Smith Jr. directionless in New Japan. However, he continued a bit of a feud with War Machine during this year's ROH/NJPW joint shows that carried on after Hoyt's return. 

War Machine's second run ends at 85 days, and they're the sixth straight team to not be able to carry the titles for three months before being unseated. They did, however, defend the titles successfully three times, which is the most since Killer Elite Squad's five between 2012 and 2013.

This is Killer Elite Squad's first IWGP Tag Team title reign in nearly four years, as they lost their last set of titles to Bullet Club at Wrestle Kingfom 8 way back in 2014. 

Fightful will have full results of NJPW Destruction in Kobe up soon.

Get exclusive combat sports content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web