Title Matches for NJPW's Power Struggle Announced; Super Jr. Tag Tournament Details Revealed

Three title matches have been announced for New Japan Pro Wrestling’s next big event, Power Struggle, which takes place on November 5 at the Edion Arena Osaka in Osaka, Japan.

Hiroshi Tanahashi will defend the IWGP Intercontinental title against Kota Ibushi in the main event. With Kota Ibushi scoring a win over Tanahashi during the G1 Climax tournament, Tanahashi looks to gain a measure of revenge.

Sexyy Red Assists Trick Williams And Je'Von Evans, Chase U Drama, More | NXT Fight Size

After a controversial finish in a tag match at King of Pro Wrestling, Toru Yano will get a NEVER title opportunity as he faces champion Minoru Suzuki. This comes after Yano low blowed Suzuki out of the ring and beat the count right in the nick of time, giving him the win by count out and leaving Suzuki incensed. 

And after directly challenging him to a title match, Bullet Club’s Marty Scurll will get an opportunity to face new IWGP Jr. Heavyweight champion Will Ospreay for the title. 

The finals of the annual Super Junior Tag Tournament will also be held. The tournament, consisting of eight teams, will be single elimination style. Quarterfinals will be held on October 23 and October 29, with both of these Korakuen Hall shows airing on New Japan World.

October 23 will have Hirai Kawato and KUSHIDA vs. Roppongi 3K and Titan and Dragon Lee vs. Hiromu Takahashi and BUSHI. October 29 will have Tiger Mask and Jushin Thunder Liger vs. El Desperado and Yoshinobu Kanemaru and ACH and Ryusuke Taguchi vs. Taichi and Taka Michinoku.

Semifinal matches will take place October 30, also at Korakuen Hall.

Get exclusive pro wrestling content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.