Finalist Set In A Block Of NJPW G1 Climax 31 Tournament

History has been made.

For the fourth straight year, Kota Ibushi has made the finals of the G1 Climax Tournament.

Jake Hager Details What He's Been Told About A Potential Bout Against Jon Jones

Ibushi bested KENTA in the final bout of night seventeen of the G1 Climax Tournament to win A Block. Ibushi picked up the victory by countering the Go 2 Sleep with a reverse Kamigoye followed by a regular Kamigoye.

The final night came down to Ibushi, KENTA, Zack Sabre Jr, and Shingo Takagi, all of whom came into the event with 12 points. Shingo went to a draw with Yujiro Takahasi and ZSJ lost to Tanga Loa, setting up Ibushi vs. KENTA in the final bout where the winner would win the block.

Ibushi will meet the winner of Block B on Thursday in the finals of the tournament. The Block B finals is down to Kazuchika Okada and Jeff Cobb.

Ibushi is 2-1 in the G1 Climax Finals. He bested SANADA in 2020 and Jay White in 2019 but lost to Hiroshi Tanahashi in 2018.

You can find results from the NJPW G1 Climax 31 A Block finals by clicking here.

Get exclusive pro wrestling content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web