Iuri Alcantara Gets Nose Surgery After UFC Fight Night Lincoln


Iuri Alcantara and Cory Sandhagen competed in an instant classic at UFC Fight Night Lincoln, with Sandhagen walking away with a second round TKO victory.

The Brazilian did walk out of the arena with a $50,000 bonus on that night (as did Sandhagen, as the duo was awarded Fight Of The Night), but he also walked away with a broken nose.

Conor McGregor's Black Forge Inn Pub Target Of Attempted Bombing Attack

Alcantara would take to Facebook to announce that surgery would be needed to fix the injured nose:

Here is a translation of what Alcantar wrote, provided by Facebook: 

This was one of the most amazing fights of my career! Man, I was feeling really good! I came in with blood in my eyes and willing everything to win because that's how it has to be! Unfortunately the final result was not so expected, but ok, I am an athlete and as such i will encounter the negative result ever. But I won't be sorry for that, I know how far I can get. Now I need to focus on my recovery. I had fractures to my nose, and I'm going through surgery tomorrow morning. Because of this i will not be able to return to Brazil. I'll stay here a little longer. According to the doctors, running everything as expected, in a month I'll be able to go back to practice, which makes me more peaceful. I would very much like to thank all my family, friends, team marajó brothers and fans for being by my side always. Soon I will be home and recovered that is what matters most now. #Marajóbrothers #postosubn #lutamarajoara #coephysio#lapelotabarbearia #cavaloteam #academiaprimusfitness #soure #marajó#Brazil @ Bryan Medical Center West campus

MMA Fighting would then report that Alcantara has since undergone surgery and it was successful, repairing all the damage suffered at UFC Fight Night Lincoln. Doctors are telling the fighter than he can return to training again in approximately one month, meaning Alcantara may possibly fight again before the end of the year.

There was some controversy in the fight due to the seemingly bad call made by referee Brandon Pfannenstiel, who many believe should've ended the fight in the first round instead of the second, which would've spared an unnecessary added beating to Alcantara. Pfannenstiel would be pulled from officiating any more fights after the controversy ensued, which is not the first time something like this has happened in the UFC before. 

Get exclusive pro wrestling content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web