G1 Climax 28 Tournament Blocks Officially Announced

Some stiff competition.

Yesterday morning the field of competitors for the 28th NJPW G1 Climax tournament were unveiled. Names such as the current IWGP Heavyweight Champion Kenny Omega was announced, Kazuchika Okada, Tetsuya Naito, Zack Sabre Jr., and the current IWGP U.S. Heavyweight Champion Jay White among others were announced as the field of competitors in this year's tourney.

Eva Marie Returns Alongside Piper Niven; Niven Defeats Naomi Resulting In A 'Win' For Eva

The G1 Climax will commence on July 12th and run until August 12th where the winner of the A and B blocks will meet in the finals and the winner of that bout will have earned themselves a briefcase that contains a certificate inside of it for a shot at the IWGP Heavyweight Championship at next year's Wrestle Kingdom. Over the past few years the winner of the tournament has had to defend that certificate twice before they can secure themselves the main-event match at NJPW's biggest event of the year.

The blocks for the G1 have been revealed and these are the competitors who will by competing against one another for a full month of in-ring competition:

A Block

* Hiroshi Tanahashi
* Togi Makabe
* Michael Elgin
* Kazuchika Okada
* Jay White (IWGP U.S. Heavyweight Champion)
* Bad Luck Fale
* Adam "Hangman" Page
* Minoru Suzuki

B Block

* Juice Robinson
* Hirooki Goto (NEVER Openweight Champion)
* Tomohiro Ishii
* Toru Yano
* Kenny Omega (IWGP Heavyweight Champion)
* Kota Ibushi
* Tama Tonga
* Tetsuya Naito
* Zack Sabre Jr.


Get exclusive combat sports content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web