Mickie James Says Referee On WWE Raw Thought She May Have Suffered A Concussion

Mickie James had a chance to win the Raw Women's Championship on Monday against Asuka, but was robbed of the opportunity due to a referee mistake. Mickie was put in the Asuka lock and the referee stopped the bout, though Mickie did not tap out.

WWE explained that Asuka won via referee's decision.

Seth Rollins Reflects On WrestleMania Match With Logan Paul, Says Paul Is A 'Hustler'

Speaking to Alex McCarthy of TalkSPORT, Mickie explained that the referee was trying to protect her after he thought she had suffered a possible concussion.

"In that moment it’s very hard for them to tell whether you are hurt or not. It can’t just be his call either. It must have been whoever thought I was hurt," she said. "They’re just trying to protect me and keep me safe because concussions are a real thing. What we do as a sport is very dangerous. So if somebody gets a concussion, not only can they not wrestle the rest of that match, but they could possibly never wrestle again depending on how bad it is, same with football. So we have to be careful with that and I get it. It was unfortunate for me and stinky, but I’m fine. My nose hurts a little bit from that knee lift, I’ll be honest [laughs]."

Appearing on The Bump, Mickie expressed her frustration and bewilderment over the finish. You can find her full comments by clicking here.

Get exclusive pro wrestling content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web