Hiromu Takahashi Wins NJPW Best Of The Super Juniors

Hiromu Takahashi took out Taiji Ishimori to win the 2018 Best of the Super Juniors

For over two weeks, the field of sixteen wrestlers competed in a round robin tournament to determine the two winners of each eight person block. On June 4th, the winners of their blocks Hiromu Takahashi and Taiji Ishimori met in the finals of the tournament and the Ticking Time Bomb Takahashi took the victory and will go on to face Will Ospreay at the New Japan Pro Wrestling event Dominion for the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship.

WWE SmackDown (9/22/2023) Results: Iyo Sky vs Asuka, John Cena Appears, LWO vs Street Profits & More

The following is an excerpt from the Fightful live coverage.

Provided by David Tees

Ishimori then hits a cornered Takahashi with a clothesline followed by a uranage, Ishimori goes for a 450 splash and Takahashi gets his knees up. Takahashi reapplies the triangle choke before nailing Ishimori with a double under hook pile driver, Takahashi reapplies the triangle choke for a third time and Ishimori gets to the ropes. Takahashi goes for the Time Bomb and he winds up landing a death valley driver in the corner,Takahashi then hits Ishimori with a Time Bomb for the three count.

Winner: Hiromu Takahashi

After the match, the Best Of The Super Juniors 25 Trophy is presented to Hiromu Takahashi.

In the early days of the tournament, Takahashi took two losses in a row from Dragon Lee and El Desperado who were at the top of Block B at the time. But he turned around his losing streak with a victory over Ryusuke Taguchi citing that he learned something from watching Taguchi's style.

Dominion will be June 9th and Fightful Wrestling will have live coverage of the event. There's also play-by-play and results for the Best of the Super Junior tournament.

Get exclusive pro wrestling content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web