New NEVER Openweight Champion Crowned At NJPW Wrestling Dontaku

The NEVER Openweight Championship has changed hands once again.

Jay White is the new NEVER Openweight Champion, defeating Hiroshi Tanahashi at NJPW Wrestling Dontaku.

Adam Page vs. Brian Cage Set For AEW Double Or Nothing 2021

Tanahashi forced White to tap out with the cloverleaf, but the referee missed the tap as he was too busy being distracted by Gedo, who jumped up on the ring apron. After a series of counters, White was able to hit the blade runner for the three count.

This marks Jay White's first reign with the NEVER Openweight Title. Tanahashi held the belt for 93 days, making one successful title defense.

White is the first man in NJPW to hold the IWGP Heavyweight, IWGP Intercontinental, IWGP US, and NEVER Openweight Titles.

You can find full results from NJPW Wrestling Dontaku night one by clicking here.

Get exclusive combat sports content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web