WWE Officially Announces First Four Entrants In The Mae Young Classic

There will be 32 competitors in WWE's All-Female Tournament, The Mae Young Classic, and while a lot of names have been bandied about as possibilities in recent weeks, WWE has just officially announced the first four.

They are, in no particular order:

Women's Title Match Booked For AEW Double Or Nothing 2021
  • Lacey Evans (formerly Macey Estrella), from NXT
  • Sarah Logan (formerly Crazy Mary Dobson), also from NXT
  • Toni Storm, based out of the UK, wrestled all over the world
  • Princess Sugehit, current Mexican National Women's Champion

Lacey Evans has been featured in several matches on NXT TV, though she currently remains winless. She is a former Marine and has a throwback aesthetic calling to mind women of the 1940s.

Sarah Logan (who also wrestled as Sarah Bridges for NXT) has had one match on NXT TV against Peyton Royce (if you don't count her debacle from last year against future main roster Women's Champ Alexa Bliss). She has a redneck gimmick and it seems to suit her style.

Toni Storm was "born in New Zealand, raised in Australia and based in the U.K., she wrestled in 13 countries before age 20." She's currently 21, which means she's been alive for as long as the next competitor has been wrestling.

Princess Sugehit is the grand dame of lucha libre, having competed and won many accolades in both CMLL and AAA. She made her debut in 1996.

WWE says we should stay tuned over the coming weeks as more names are revealed for the upcoming Mae Young Classic, which tapes at Full Sail on July 13 and 14, but is expected to air on the network some time after Summerslam with a Live "Final Four" Episode, much like last year's Cruiserweight Classic.

Get exclusive combat sports content on Fightful Select, our premium news service! Click here to learn more.
From The Web