WWE Royal Rumble Winners List

Royal Rumble winners, dating back to 1988. Click each link for our retro tweets on the Rumble match!

1988: Hacksaw Jim Duggan – 20-man Rumble

1989: Big John Studd (via eliminating Ted DiBiase) in first 30-man Rumble

1990: Hulk Hogan (via eliminating Mr. Perfect), only WWF Champion to win the Rumble.

1991: Hulk Hogan (via eliminating Earthquake)

1992: Ric Flair (via eliminating Sid Justice) to win the WWF title

1993: Yokozuna (via eliminating Randy Savage), in first for a guaranteed title shot at WrestleMania

1994: Bret Hart/Lex Luger (eliminated at the same time)

1995: Shawn Michaels (via eliminating British Bulldog)

1996: Shawn Michaels (via eliminating Diesel)

1997: Stone Cold Steve Austin (via eliminating Bret Hart)

1998: Stone Cold Steve Austin (via eliminating The Rock)

1999: Vince McMahon (via eliminating Steve Austin)

2000: The Rock (via eliminating Big Show)

2001: Stone Cold Steve Austin (via eliminating Kane)

2002: Triple H (via eliminating Kurt Angle)

2003: Brock Lesnar (via eliminating The Undertaker)

2004: Chris Benoit (via eliminating Big Show)

2005: Batista (via eliminating John Cena)

2006: Rey Mysterio (via eliminating Randy Orton)

2007: The Undertaker (via eliminating Shawn Michaels)

2008: John Cena (via eliminating Triple H)

2009: Randy Orton (via eliminating Triple H)

2010: Edge (via eliminating John Cena)

2011: Alberto Del Rio (via eliminating Santino Marella) in a 40-man Royal Rumble

2012: Sheamus (via eliminating Chris Jericho)

2013: John Cena (via eliminating Ryback)

2014: Batista (via eliminating Roman Reigns)

2015: Roman Reigns (via eliminating Rusev)

2016: Triple H (via eliminating Dean Ambrose) to win the WWE Title

2017: Randy Orton (via eliminating Roman Reigns)


Taking A Look At The The Royal Rumble Curse

Shane Helms Tells The Story Of How The "Double Chokeslam" Royal Rumble Spot Came To Be

Our 2005 Royal Rumble Match Alternate Commentary!

The Redemption Rumble!

Shane Helms Royal Rumble Retrospective Podcast!

Around The Web